SGA, Honor Council Elections Decided

By Shailey Klein

Upper School officer elections for Oak Hall’s Student Government Association (SGA), Honor Council, and the Senior Class were held the week of Aug. 24. These elections typically occur in the spring semester prior to the upcoming school year, but since the school closed in March due to COVID-19, such elections were postponed until the students returned to campus. All three of these organizations provide leadership for various aspects of the Oak Hall community. 

SGA is responsible for planning all of the major events at Oak Hall, such as Homecoming Week, Field Day for the Middle and Upper Schools, and dances for the Upper School. In addition, SGA collects the recycling every week and serves as a liaison to administration and faculty for the Upper School student body. Athletics Administrative Assistant Buffy McTureous became the new SGA faculty sponsor this year, taking over the reigns from Upper School English teacher Scott Campbell. Three of the five recently elected officers are returning to the Cabinet from last year. 

Sponsored by Upper School Spanish Teacher Libby Karow, the Honor Council is designed to uphold the Oak Hall Honor Code and foster trust and support throughout the Upper School community. Senior Harrison Grooms, the Chair of the Honor Council, is looking forward to bringing veteran leadership to the council after having served as secretary and representative in the past. “I have the honor of fostering an Honor Council that exhibits warmth and optimism toward all students who come before us, while also leading our proceedings to ensure that we provide our peers with the best help and advice that we can,” Grooms stated. 

The Senior Class officers pull heavy weight, working closely with Senior Class Sponsor Jeff Malloy, to plan various activities such as the class trip just before graduation, senior lunches, senior investiture, and painting parking spots. At graduation, Senior Class President, Andrew Pickens, will conclude the ceremony by delivering a speech to the senior class. “I’m looking forward to serving my classmates and making the most out of this school year,” Pickens exclaimed. 

2020 SGA Officers:

President: Shailey Klein
Vice President: Sophie Miller
Secretary: Lindsay Jenkins
Parliamentarian: Gabby Aulisio
Treasurer: Sydney Miller

2020 Honor Council Officers:

Chair: Harrison Grooms
Vice Chair: Sofia Guico
Secretary: Bailey Thorpe

2020 Senior Class Officers:

President: Andrew Pickens
Vice President: Adel Acs
Secretary: Caitlyn McMahon
Treasurer: Madeline Paquette